Disciples Divinity House

of the University of Chicago

DDH Luncheon for Alumni/ae and Friends

Tuesday, July 11, 11:15am-12:45pm,  J.W. Marriott, Grand Ballroom 8, Indianapolis

Tickets are $25, available online

Or telephone (773-643-4411) or email to reserve your ticket, to request a vegetarian meal, or to notify of other dietary restrictions.

Machado to be honored as Distinguished Alumna

The Distinguished Alumna/us Award will be presented to Daisy L. Machado, Professor of the History of Christianity at Union Theological Seminary, at the DDH Luncheon. She will respond. Trailblazing scholar, esteemed mentor, advocate for Latino/a theological faculty, and Disciples minister, she will be the 19th recipient of the award, which was established in 1979. More here.

Teresa Hord Owens, GMP Nominee

Alumna Teresa (Terri) Hord Owens is the nominee for General Minister and President of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). She is currently Dean of Students at the Divinity School and Senior Minister of First Christian Church of Downers Grove, Illinois. More here.

Listen to a video message from Terri Owens. https://t.co/IObEYolYJy

StoryHour returns July 11, 9:00pm at Rock Bottom Restaurant

Stand Your Ground: Stories to be told from DDH-Chicago, DDH@Vandy, and Week of Compassion

Organized by master story teller Rebecca Anderson and not to be missed. Save your Tuesday evening. Associate Dean Yvonne Gilmore will co-host a StoryHour with participation from both DDHs and Week of Compassion on Tuesday, July 11, at 9 pm at Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery, 10 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis (walking distance from the convention center).

DJAN Activities

Disciples Justice Action Network activities will include a Justice for Families rally on Saturday, July 8; a vigil on Monday, July 10 at 9:30pm; a workshop with NBA; a brownbag lunchtime workshop on Monday, July 10, at 11:15am featuring Michael Kinnamon; and a brownbag lunch workshop on Wednesday, July 12, at 11:15am featuring Sandhya Jha. Ken Brooker Langston is the Executive Director of the Disciples Center for Public Witness, Director of Disciples Justice Action Network, and Justice Advocacy Advisor to the OGMP and DHM.

Visit the booth in the exhibit hall

Look for our booth in the exhibit hall Saturday, July 8 - Wednesday, July 12.

Sign up to help staff the booth
Talk with prospective students, friends, and fellow alums.

Purchase a ticket ($25) for a current or prospective student by contacting us or by donating online.

Underwood and Lee are moderator team nominees

Beau Underwood, Senior Minister of First Christian Church, Jefferson City, Missouri, is the nominee for First Vice Moderator of the General Assembly. Timothy S. Lee, Associate Professor of the History of Christianity, Brite Divinity School, is the nominee for Second Vice Moderator.

Learning opportunities

Associate Dean Yvonne Gilmore and Sandhya Jha, Founder and Director of the Oakland Peace Center, will be the core lecturers for the Transformative Leadership & Innovation Learning Track and the Justice Learning Track, respectively, on Monday, July 10, at 8:45 am.

Leaders of workshops on Sunday, July 9, 2:00 pm include Ana Gobledale, minister of United Reformed Church congregations in the U.K., and Aaron Smith, Director of Employer Services of the Pension Fund.

Andrew Packman, PhD candidate in Theology; Cynthia Lindner, Director of Ministry Studies, University of Chicago Divinity School; and Ayanna Johnson Watkins, Director of NBA's Incubate Initiative, will be panelists for workshops in the Transformative Leadership & Innovation Track, on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Rob Wilson-Black, CEO of Sojourners, will participate in a panel with the academic dean of Christian Theological Seminary, a HELM Leadership Fellow, and the senior minister of Central Christian Church, Indianapolis, at the Higher Education & Leadership Ministries Dinner Monday, July 10, 5:00 pm. Chris Dorsey is President of HELM.

Sunday worship with alumni/ae preaching

Vy Nguyen, Executive Director of Week of Compassion - 10:30 am at Southport Christian Church, 201 E. Epler Avenue, Indianapolis.

Rebecca Anderson, pastor-developer, Gilead Church, Chicago - 10:00 am at First Christian Church, 16377 Herriman Blvd., Noblesville, Indiana.

Associate Dean Yvonne Gilmore - 11:00 am at New Revelation Christian Church, 6701 Oaklandon Road, Indianapolis.

Michael Kinnamon, educator and ecumenical leader - 10:15 am at Speedway Christian Church, 5110 W. 14th Street, Indianapolis.

Teresa Hord Owens, GMP nominee - 10:30 am at Light of the World Christian Church, 4646 N. Michigan Road, Indianapolis.

Katherine Raley - 10:00 am at Eastgate Christian Church, 8100 E. 16th St., Indianapolis.

Beau Underwood, Senior Minister of First Christian Church Jefferson City, Missouri - 10:45 am at Greenfield Christian Church, 23 N. East Street, Greenfield, Indiana.

Bible Studies on the theme, John 17.20-21a

Sharing Food and Sharing Lifeby Dean Kris Culp

Let Us Cooperate for One: A Lesson in Polity from Alexander Campbell Timothy S. Lee, Associate Professor of the History of Christianity, Brite Divinity School

A Meditation on OneMark Miller-McLemore, Dean, Disciples Divinity House at Vanderbilt

Additional Bible studies here.