Alumni/ae Council

The Alumni/ae Council works to enhance relations among alumni/ae and to connect alumni/ae with current Disciples Divinity House Scholars, and thereby to support the work of the Disciples Divinity House.

Every other year the Council hosts a luncheon for alumni/ae and friends at the General Assembly of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), where they present the Distinguished Alumnus/a Award. The Award recognizes lifelong service and achievement by a Disciples Divinity House alumnus or alumna. The recipients have been exemplars of varied forms of ministry and service; in some sense, they have each defined these forms. The Alumni/ae Council receives nominations, selects the recipient, and presents the award.

The Alumni/ae Council is composed of fifteen members who are elected to three-year terms. A slate of member classes and of officers is elected every two years. The Council meets annually in late April.

The current officers are President Allie Lundblad and Secretary Dennis Landon. The President of the Council is also an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.

The current members* are:

Class of 2018-22
Dennis L. Landon
Allison B. Lundblad
Joy L. Omslaer

Class of 2019-23
Kenneth T. Brooker-Langston
McKinna R. Daugherty
Ayanna Johnson Watkins

Class of 2020-24
R. Danielle Cox
Aaron L. Smith
Michael K. Stone

Class of 2021-25
Amy Bertschausen
Charles R. Blaisdell
Laura Jennison Reed

* Due to the pandemic, all members' terms were extended an additional year.