Distinguished Alumna/us Award

Cynthia G. Lindner named 2023 Distinguished Alumna

Cynthia Gano Lindner, exemplary minister and mentor, has been selected by the Alumni/ae Council as the recipient of the Distinguished Alumna Award.

For the past twenty-one years as the Director of Ministry Studies and Clinical Faculty for Preaching and Pastoral Care in the Divinity School of the University of Chicago, she has nurtured, trained, and inspired generations of emerging religious leaders, including many DDH graduates and current students. Under her direction, the Divinity School’s ministry program has been transformed into a flourishing multi-religious program.

Cynthia has served as a member of the DDH Board of Trustees since 2001, and had served on the Alumni/ae Council and as its president. An ordained Disciples minister, she previously served three congregations, including a long-term pastorate and co-pastorate at First Christian Church in Albany, Oregon.

Read her Distinguished Alumna Address:

Begotten, Bewildered, and Beholding: The Practice and Promise of Learning in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)


The Distinguished Alumna/us Award recognizes lifelong service and achievement by a Disciples Divinity House alumna or alumnus. The recipients have been exemplars of varied forms of ministry and service; in some sense, they have each defined these forms. The award, established in 1979, is typically presented at the General Assembly.

Award Recipients

Scroll over entries and click to access their addresses.

1991 Frank C. Mabee

1989 William N. Weaver

1987 Marvin E. Smith, Crisis in the Christian Church
         pdf version

1985 Robert A. Thomas

1983 K. Barton Hunter

1981 Irvin E. Lunger

1979 Arthur A. Azlein